New Missouri Corn Officers Take The Wheel

Posted on: October 1, 2020

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)— With the start of a new fiscal year, the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) and the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) announced a new slate of officers, the appointment of recently elected board members and national committee assignments. 

The election of the 2020-21 MCMC officer team took place during an August board meeting held in Branson. The following MCMC leaders assumed their new roles Oct. 1:



Jay Schutte

Benton City

District 3


Vice Chairman

Brent Hoerr


District 3



Dylan Rosier

Mound City

District 1



Matt Lambert


District 2

Also elected in August, the 2020-21 MCGA officers are:



Jay Fischer

Jefferson City

District 5


Vice President

Clint Stephens


District 7



Brian Lehman


District 4


New MCMC board members Adam Casner of Carrollton, Mo., Greg Bertz of Mayview, Mo., and Danny Kuenzel of Washington, Mo., were recently elected by growers in Districts 2, 4, and 6 respectively and assumed their new roles Oct. 1. They will be nominated to the MCGA board at the organization’s annual meeting in January. Casner replaces Gary Porter of Mercer, Mo.; Bertz succeeds Kyle Kirby of Liberal, Mo.; and Kuenzel replaces Greg Schneider of Warrenton, Mo. Porter, who served the maximum 12 years, will remain on the MCMC and MCGA boards in an ex-officio capacity through his service on the National Corn Growers Association board of directors. 

MCMC is a longstanding partner with the U.S. Grains Council (USGC) to enhance the value of corn, ethanol, and distillers grains through strong international exports. Serving on USGC advisory teams are Jay Schutte, Asia; Mark Scott, Value-Added; Gary Porter, Ethanol; Dylan Rosier, Middle East/Africa/South Asia; Jay Fischer, Ethanol; and Brent Hoerr, Innovation and Sustainability. Missouri Corn Director of Public Policy Samantha Davis will serve on the Trade Policy Team and Senior Director of Market Development and Grower Services Bradley Schad has been named to the Ethanol Team.

Several Missouri Corn leaders have also been appointed to serve on National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) action teams and committees. Clint Stephens was renamed to the Production Technology Access Action Team and Mike Moreland will again serve on the Resolutions Committee. Matt Lambert was renamed to the Stewardship Action Team. Jay Schutte will continue to donate his time to the Risk Management & Transportation Action Team, as well as the Nominating Committee. Brian Lehman of Versailles was reappointed to the Member & Consumer Engagement Action Team, and Patrick Seyer was named to the Ethanol Action Team. Additionally, Gary Porter will serve on the Commodity Classic Planning Committee and as a liaison for the Ethanol Action Team and National Cattlemen’s Beef Association.

The MCMC board of directors is comprised of 14 corn growers elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1984 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is dedicated to market development, research, and education. MCGA is a grassroots organization committed to increasing the profitability of corn production through sound policies, continued market development, and strong involvement in the political process. To learn more, visit

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.