Missouri Corn Growers Share Priorities,  Recognize Partners 

Posted on: February 1, 2024

(JEFFERSON CITY)—Corn farmers, industry representatives, and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and legislative day.

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual meeting, where Gov. Mike Parson provided the keynote address. Members also reviewed financials, heard from industry leaders, and elected five board members: Dylan Rosier of Mound City in District 1 representing northwest Missouri; Adam Casner of Carrollton to represent north-central Missouri growers in District 2; Brian Willott of Mexico to represent District 3 in northeast Missouri; Greg Bertz of Mayview, representing west central growers in District 4; and Danny Kuenzel of Washington to represent District 6 in the east-central region.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to discuss the importance of Missouri’s corn and ethanol industries with legislators and their economic impact on the state.

“Grassroots are vital to MCGA’s success,” noted MCGA Vice President Brian Lehman of Versailles. “Our stories and experiences can make a real difference in Jefferson City and Washington, D.C. While MCGA is our daily boots on the ground, it is important we share our story in the political space and to listen and educate to make this process work better.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the corn and ethanol industries. Award recipients included:

Friend of Corn Growers Award
Congressman Mark Alford
Congressman Sam Graves
Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer
State Rep. Dane Diehl
State Rep. Kurtis Gregory
State Rep. Greg Sharpe

Public Servant Award
State Sen. Justin Brown
State Sen. Sandy Crawford
State Sen. Karla Eslinger
State Sen. Lincoln Hough

Outstanding Partner
‘Farmer’ Dave Schumacher, KTRS

Outstanding Advocate
Don Nikodim, Missouri Pork Association

President’s Award
Gov. Mike Parson
Jay Schutte, Benton City

Honorary Lifetime Award
Clint Stephens, Advance

Years of Service
Jay Schutte

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation.

To learn more about Missouri Corn, or become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

2024 Annual Meeting

Photo Caption: Missouri corn farmers from across the state convened in Jefferson City Wednesday, Jan. 31, for the Missouri Corn Growers Association Annual Meeting and Legislative Day. Following a business meeting, growers visited with legislators at the Missouri State Capitol.

Download high-res "2024 Annual Meeting" photo

Legislative Visits

Photo Caption: Missouri corn grower leaders visited with legislators during the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) Annual Meeting and Legislative Day. Pictured (l-r) MCGA board member Matt Lambert of Laclede, Missouri Corn CEO Bradley Schad, Sen. Caleb Rowden, MCGA Vice President Brian Lehman of Versailles, and MCGA board member Patrick Seyer of Oran.

Download high-res "Legislative Visits" photo