Missouri Corn Growers Share Priorities, Recognize Partners

Posted on: January 26, 2023

Corn farmers, industry representatives, and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and legislative day. 

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual meeting, where Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe provided the keynote address. Members also reviewed financials, heard from industry leaders, and elected five board members: Ryan Myerkorth of Rock Port in District 1 representing northwest Missouri; Matt Lambert of Laclede to represent north central Missouri growers in District 2; Brian Lehman of Versailles to represent District 5 in central Missouri; Jim Boerding of St. Charles, representing east central growers in District 6; and Patrick Seyer of Oran to represent District 7 in the southeast region.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to discuss the importance of Missouri’s corn and ethanol industries with legislators and their economic impact on the state.

“With farmers becoming a shrinking minority and many new faces in this year’s legislature, the event provided the chance to have a voice with elected officials here in Jefferson City,” noted MCGA President Clint Stephens of Advance. “Engaging one-on-one and putting a face on agriculture, strengthens our voice and helps defend corn farmers across the state.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the corn and ethanol industries. Award recipients included:

Friend of Corn Growers Award

Rep. Brad Pollitt
Rep. Dean Plocher
Sen. Jason Bean

Public Servant Award
Former U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler
Rep. Mike Haffner

Outstanding Partner
Dale Amick, Jefferson City

Outstanding Advocate
Farmers of Cooper County

President’s Award
Former U.S. Sen. Roy Blunt
Jay Fischer, Jefferson City

Honorary Lifetime Award
Jay Schutte, Benton City

Years of Service
Mark Scott, Wentzville

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation.

To learn more about Missouri Corn, or become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181. 

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.