Missouri Corn Growers Share Priorities, Recognize Partners

Posted on: January 27, 2022

(JEFFERSON CITY)—Corn farmers, industry representatives, and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and legislative day. 

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual meeting, where Gov. Mike Parson provided the keynote address. Members also reviewed financials, heard from industry leaders, and elected four board members: Brent Hoerr of Palmyra in District 3 representing northeast Missouri; Brice Fischer of Rock City to represent west-central Missouri growers in District 4; Brandon Thiel of Marshall to represent District 5 in central Missouri; and Clint Stephens of Advance to represent District 7 in the southeast region.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to discuss the importance of Missouri’s corn and ethanol industries with legislators and their economic impact on the state.

“We are fortunate to have a governor and strong coalition of legislators that recognize the importance of agriculture as the state’s number one industry,” said MCGA President Jay Schutte of Benton City. “We don’t take these relationships for granted – especially with new faces being elected every few years. There are numerous issues impacting growers being discussed regularly in the halls of the State Capitol, and we need to maintain a presence to ensure grower voices are heard. Our thanks to those who took time away from the farm to join us this week and in the weeks ahead.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the corn and ethanol industries. Award recipients included:

Friend of Corn Growers Award
Cong. Emanuel Cleaver
Cong. Jason Smith

Public Servant Award
Sen. Jason Bean
Sen. Dan Hegeman
Rep. Rick Francis
Rep. Dan Houx
Rep. Jeff Knight

Outstanding Partner
Marla Young, Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority

President’s Award
Mike Moreland, Harrisonville

Honorary Lifetime Award
Jay Fischer, Jefferson City

Years of Service
Mike Moreland

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation.

To learn more about Missouri Corn, or become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

MCGA Meeting 2022

Click here for larger image.

Photo Caption: Missouri corn farmers from across the state convened in Jefferson City Wednesday, Jan. 26, for the Missouri Corn Growers Association annual meeting and legislative day. After the business meeting, growers visited with legislators at the State Capitol, discussing the importance of corn and ethanol to the state of Missouri.

Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "MCGA Meeting 2022" photo

MCGA Capitol Visits

Click here for larger image.

Photo Caption: Missouri Corn Growers Association President Jay Schutte (center-right), board member Brian Lehman (right), and CEO Bradley Schad (left) visited with Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe (center-left), about issues important to corn farmers while making visits in the State Capitol during the MCGA annual meeting and legislative day Wednesday, Jan. 26.

Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "MCGA Capitol Visits" photo