New Missouri Corn Officer Teams Take The Lead

Posted on: October 3, 2016

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)–The Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) and the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) have announced a new slate of officers, appointment of recently elected board members and national committee assignments.

The election of the 2016-17 MCMC officer team took place during an August board meeting held in Camdenton. The following MCMC leaders assumed their new roles Oct. 1:


Vice Chairman

Kyle Kirby
Mike Moreland
Jay Schutte
Greg Schneider

Benton City

District 4
District 4
District 3
District 6

Also elected in August, the 2016-17 MCGA officers are:


Vice President

Gary Porter
Mark Scott
Jay Fischer

Jefferson City

District 2
District 6
District 5

New MCMC board members Jason Hull of Skidmore, Brian Lehman of Versailles and Allen Rowland of Dexter were recently elected by growers in Districts 1, 5 and 7 respectively and assume their new roles Oct. 1. Hull replaces retiring board member Kevin Hurst of Tarkio, who retires after nine years. Lehman steps in for Kurtis Gregory of Marshall, while Rowland assumes the seat of John Moreton of Charleston. The three new board members will be nominated to the MCGA board at the organization’s annual meeting in January.

MCMC is a longstanding partner with the U. S. Grains Council (USGC) in working to enhance the value of corn, ethanol and distillers grains through strong international exports. Missouri Corn ex-officio director Jim Stuever of Dexter represents Missouri corn farmers on the USGC board of directors. Serving on USGC advisory teams are: Jay Schutte, Asia; Mark Scott, Middle East/Africa; Morris Heitman, Value Added; Jay Fischer, Ethanol; and Gary Porter will again serve as the advisory team leader for the Western Hemisphere. Missouri Corn Director of Public Policy Shane Kinne will serve on the USGC Innovation and Sustainability Team.

Several Missouri Corn leaders have also been appointed to serve on National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) action teams and committees. Kevin Hurst has been reappointed to the Corn PAC; Kyle Kirby will join the Feed, Food and Industrial Action Team; Morris Heitman of Mound City was named to the Freedom to Operate Action Team; Mike Moreland will serve on the Risk Management Action Team; Jay Schutte was renamed to the Ethanol Action Team; Greg Schneider was appointed to the Corn Productivity and Quality Action Team; Allen Rowland was named to the Consumer Engagement Action Team, Gary Porter will serve on the Market Access Action Team, Missouri Corn Director of Grower Services Matt Amick will join the Engaging Members Committee and Missouri Corn Director of Public Policy Shane Kinne will serve as a state staff member from the Freedom to Operate Action Team.

The MCMC board of directors is comprised of 14 corn growers elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1984 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is dedicated to market development, research and education. MCGA is a grassroots organization of more than 2,500 members committed to increasing the profitability of corn production through sound policies, continued market development and strong involvement in the political process. To learn more, visit

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.