Corn Growers Recognized At Governor’s Conference

Posted on: December 22, 2015

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)–Local corn farmers Kevin Hurst of Tarkio and Morris Heitman of Mound City were recently recognized during the 46th Missouri Governor’s Conference on Agriculture held Dec. 16-18 at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, Mo.

Hurst, past president of the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA), was honored Friday, Dec. 18 by Missouri Governor Jay Nixon and Director of Agriculture Richard Fordyce for his leadership in the corn industry. During the governor’s recognition banquet, Hurst was presented with the 2015 Missouri Agriculture Legacy Award for corn production.   

“The contributions Kevin has, and continues to make, to the corn industry are substantial,” noted Missouri Corn CEO Gary Marshall. “During his nearly 10 years of service, Kevin’s leadership centered around the best interest of his fellow corn growers, growing market demand and educating others on industry advancements.”

Legacy awards are presented to Missouri producers who have exemplified great leadership in their field of agriculture through innovation, land stewardship, value-added opportunities and/or international success. Hurst has represented corn farmers in the northwest region of the state for nearly 10 years, serving on both the MCGA and Missouri Corn Merchandising Council board of directors. He has also worked on behalf of growers nationally, serving on both National Corn Growers Association and U.S. Grains Council action teams.

Heitman, current MCGA president, also took center stage at the conference that drew an estimated 750 farmers and agribusinesses members. He joined Missouri dairy, cattle, pork, soybean, rice, egg and forest product representatives Dec. 17 for a State of the Industry panel discussion. Heitman provided attendees a recap of the issues and successes of 2015 as well as the challenges the corn industry will face in the year ahead.

“We are conservationists. We are environmentalists. We are also fortunate to be able to take advantage of unparalleled technological advancements,” Heitman said in his remarks. “As we progress into 2016, let us strive to grow products in a manner that is safe, efficient and more environmentally friendly than ever before.” 

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

Kevin Hurst Gov Conference

Photo Caption: Past Missouri Corn Growers Association President Kevin Hurst of Tarkio was presented the Missouri Agriculture Legacy Award for corn production Dec. 18 during the Missouri Governor's Conference on Agriculture. Pictured (l-r): Missouri Director of Agriculture Richard Fordyce, Hurst, Gov. Jay Nixon and Chris Klenklen, Missouri Department of Agriculture division director for grain inspection and warehousing.

Photo Credit: Missouri Department of Agriculture

Download high-res "Kevin Hurst Gov Conference" photo

Morris Heitman Gov Conference

Photo Caption: Missouri Corn Growers Association President Morris Heitman of Mound City provided an overview of Missouri's corn industry during the State of the Industry Panel at the 46th Governor's Conference on Agriculture Dec. 17.

Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "Morris Heitman Gov Conference" photo