Heitman Named Missouri Corn Growers Association President

Posted on: October 1, 2015

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)—Morris Heitman of Mound City, Mo., assumed the title of Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) president effective Oct. 1. Elected during the organization’s August board meeting, Heitman succeeds Kevin Hurst of Tarkio, Mo.

“I want to thank the board for allowing me to serve and corn growers for their continued support of MCGA,” noted Hurst. “It was a busy and challenging year that included lots of rewards. I know the organization will be in good hands as Morris takes the reins. A forward thinker, he will continue to guide MCGA in a direction that will benefit Missouri corn farmers.”

Heitman represents corn farmers from District 1 in the northwest region of the state. He previously served the state’s growers as Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer as well as MCGA vice president and secretary/treasurer. Heitman also represents corn farmers nationally, currently serving on the National Corn Growers Association Corn Production and Stewardship Action Team and the U.S. Grains Council Value Added Advisory Team.  

“I feel very fortunate to have been elected by my fellow board members to lead the organization in the coming year,” Heitman said. “We strive to serve the growers out there producing the crop and don’t want to forget that. As members, we have a great opportunity to make efficient use of our resources and develop policies that will continue to push the corn industry forward.”

MCGA is a grassroots organization of more than 2,500 members dedicated to increasing the profitability of corn production through sound policies, continued market development and strong involvement in the political process. The MCMC board of directors is comprised of 14 farmers elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1984 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is committed to market development, research and education. To learn more about the corn industry in Missouri, visit www.mocorn.org.

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

Morris Heitman

Photo Caption: Mound City corn farmer Morris Heitman was elected Missouri Corn Growers Association president during an August board meeting. Heitman assumed his role Oct.1, proceeding Kevin Hurst of Tarkio, Mo.

Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "Morris Heitman" photo