Missouri Corn Growers Convene In Capital City

Posted on: January 28, 2015

(JEFFERSON CITY)–Corn farmers, board members, industry representatives and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and lobby day.  

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual business meeting. Members re-elected five board members: Morris Heitman of Mound City, to represent District 1 in northwest Missouri; Gary Porter of Mercer, in District 2 representing the north-central region; growers in the northeast portion of the state will be represented by District 3 grower Jay Schutte of Benton City; in District 4 Kyle Kirby of Liberal, will represent the southwest portion of the state; and in east-central Missouri, Greg Schneider of Warrenton, will represent District 6.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to discuss corn production and encourage legislators to increase grain hauling limits.

“There is always someone making decisions that will affect how we farm,” said MCGA President Kevin Hurst of Tarkio. “I know personally that being away from your operation creates a challenge. However, by being here we are engaging in the governmental process and helping build and defend corn growers across the state. By increasing weight limits for grain haulers, corn farmers can be more efficient and more evenly aligned with growers in surrounding states.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the association during a recognition dinner. Award recipients included:

Public Servant Award
Attorney General Chris Koster

Friend of Corn Growers Award
Senator Brian Munzlinger
Representative Todd Richardson

Outstanding Partner Award
Rich Hanson, Show Me Ethanol
Steve Murphy, POET Biorefining

Outstanding Member
St. Charles County Corn Growers

Honorary Lifetime Award
Jayne Glosemeyer, Marthasville
Brent Rockhold, Arbela

Missouri Corn Top Recruiter
Kevin Hurst, Tarkio

President’s Award
Gary Wheeler, Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council

“While reflecting on the past year, it was only fitting to recognize those individuals who helped make our progress possible,” said MCGA CEO Gary Marshall. “Our elected leaders stood by growers as they advocated for the Farming Rights Amendment and increased ethanol markets in Missouri. We thank all of our partners for their efforts to strengthen this state’s corn industry.”

During the recognition of partners, MCGA members took time to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC), and the grower-leaders who have guided the checkoff-funded organization the last three decades.

“Throughout our organization’s short history, we have met the challenges that have come before us, and we appreciate the efforts of those grower-leaders who’ve served on the board the last 30 years,” noted MCMC Chairman Morris Heitman of Mound City. “Through the talent of our staff and the direction from you, the growers, I’m sure we will be up to the challenges ahead in the next 30 years.”

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation. To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

MCGA President Kevin Hurst

Photo Caption: Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) President Kevin Hurst of Tarkio addresses corn farmers from across the state during the MCGA Annual Meeting and Lobby Day in Jefferson City, Tuesday, Jan. 27.
Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "MCGA President Kevin Hurst" photo

Missouri Corn Farmers-Capitol

Photo Caption: Missouri corn farmers from across the state convened in Jefferson City Tuesday, Jan. 27 to discuss corn production and encourage legislators to increase grain hauling weight limits.
Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "Missouri Corn Farmers-Capitol" photo

Legislative Visit

Photo Caption: Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) members presented elected officials with mini grain trucks as they encouraged lawmakers to increase grain hauling weight limits during harvest in Missouri. Pictured (l-r): MCGA CEO Gary Marshall, MCGA President Kevin Hurst of Tarkio, Speaker of the House John Diehl, MCGA board member and Missouri Corn Merchandising Council Chairman Morris Heitman of Mound City and MCGA Vice President Gary Porter of Mercer.
Photo Credit: Missouri Corn Growers Association

Download high-res "Legislative Visit" photo