Missouri Corn Announces New Leadership

Posted on: September 30, 2014

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)–With a record harvest underway, the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) and the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) are kicking off a new fiscal year with new leadership and new board members. The election of the 2014-15 MCMC officer team took place during an August board meeting held in Branson, Mo.

The following MCMC leaders assumed their new roles Oct. 1:


Vice Chairman

Morris Heitman
Kyle Kirby
Mike Moreland
Mark Scott

Mound City, Mo.
Liberal, Mo.
Harrisonville, Mo.
Wentzville, Mo.

District 1
District 4
District 4
District 6

Also elected in august, the 2014-15 MCGA officers are:
Vice President
Kevin Hurst
Gary Porter
Greg Schneider
Tarkio, Mo.
Mercer, Mo.
Warrenton, Mo.
District 1
District 2
District 6

Several Missouri Corn leaders have been appointed to serve on National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) action teams and committees. Kevin Hurst has been reappointed to the Corn PAC; Kyle Kirby will join the Public Policy Action Team; Morris Heitman was named to the Production & Stewardship Action Team; Mike Moreland will serve on the Grower Services Action Team; Jay Schutte of Benton City, Mo., was renamed to the Ethanol Committee; Greg Schneider was appointed to the Research & Business Development Action Team and Bradley Schad, Missouri Corn director of market development, will again serve as a staff member of the Ethanol Committee. Additionally, Mike Geske of Matthews, Mo., is currently a director on the National Corn Board and represents corn farmers on the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance Executive Committee. Geske serves as the liaison to the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association on behalf of NCGA and will continue his work with the Missouri Corn board as an ex-officio member.

MCMC is also a longstanding partner with the U.S. Grains Council (USGC) in working to enhance commodity values through strong international exports. Representing Missouri corn farmers on the USGC board of directors is Jim Stuever of Dexter, Mo. Serving on USGC advisory teams are: Jay Schutte, Asia; Kevin Hurst, Middle East/Africa; Mark Scott, Trade Policy; Morris Heitman, Value Added; Jay Fischer of Jefferson City, Mo., Ethanol; and Gary Porter, Western Hemisphere.

The MCMC board of directors is comprised of 14 corn growers elected from across the state. This volunteer board was formed in 1984 with the passage of a corn checkoff and is dedicated to market development, research and education. MCGA is a grassroots organization of more than 2,700 members committed to increasing the profitability of corn production through sound policies, continued market development and strong involvement in the political process. To learn more, visit www.mocorn.org. 

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.