Missouri Corn Growers Convene In Capital City

Posted on: January 29, 2014

(JEFFERSON CITY)–Corn farmers, board members, industry representatives and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and lobby day.  

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual business meeting. Members elected Matt Lambert of Brookfield, Mo., to the MCGA board of directors to represent District 2 growers in north central Missouri. Kurtis Gregory of Marshall, Mo., was also elected to represent central Missouri growers in District 5. Three board members were reelected: Kevin Hurst in District 1 in northwest Missouri; Mark Scott of District 6 representing the east-central region; and John Moreton of District 7 in southeast Missouri.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to encourage legislators to allow the sale of E15 in Missouri and highlight the importance of corn and ethanol production in the state’s economy.

“If you believe in something and you’re passionate about it, it’s important to be involved,” said MCGA President Jim Stuever, a corn grower from Dexter, Mo. “I know how hard it can be to get away from the farm. But it’s equally important to be active in growing our industry. We need farmers in the Capitol to break through the politics currently blocking E15 in Missouri and give consumers another fuel choice.”  

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the association during a recognition dinner. Award recipients included:
Friend of Corn Growers Award
Congressman Jason Smith
Senator Ron Richard
Representative John Diehl
Senator Mike Parson
Representative Bill Rieboldt

Outstanding Partner Award
Precision Scale & Controls
Honorary Lifetime Award
Sam Creed, Fairfax, Mo.
B.J. Bailey, Oregon, Mo.

Outstanding Member
Brian Lehman, Versailles, Mo.

Missouri Corn Top Recruiter
Jim Stuever, Dexter, Mo.

President’s Award
Billy Thiel, Malta Bend, Mo.
“It is important to take the time to recognize those who have helped advance our industry. Our legislative leaders last year recognized the importance of passing the Right to Farm amendment. This is one way we can show our appreciation for their support,” said Missouri Corn CEO Gary Marshall. “We are grateful to all our partners and friends who are willing to dig in and do the work to help strengthen agriculture.”

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation. To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

Downloadable media assets for this article:

Right-click the link and choose "Save as." Captions for the photos are provided.

Photo Downloads

Growers at the Capitol

Photo Caption: Missouri corn farmers visited the State Capitol Tuesday, Jan. 28, during the Missouri Corn Growers Association annual meeting and lobby day.  

Download high-res "Growers at the Capitol" photo


Photo Caption: Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) President Jim Stuever of Dexter, Mo., (left) and Vice President Morris Heitman of Mound City, Mo., (right) present Speaker of the House Tim Jones (R-Eureka) with an E15 car during a visit to the State Capitol to encourage state leaders to approve the sale of the fuel blend in Missouri. Growers from across the state were in Jefferson City yesterday for the MCGA annual meeting and lobby day.

Download high-res "Speaker" photo